Mayor Watson announces first Order of Ottawa inductees

le .

City of Ottawa

Mayor Jim Watson today announced the 15 residents who will be inducted into the new Order of Ottawa during a formal ceremony at City Hall on November 22.

This prestigious civic award was established earlier this year by the Mayor and Members of Council as a way to recognize exceptional residents who have made a significant contribution in a professional capacity in many areas of city life including arts and culture, business, community service, education, public service, labour, communications and media, science, sports and entertainment or other fields of endeavour that benefit the residents of Ottawa.

"The Order of Ottawa enables us to recognize outstanding residents and meritorious service within our city," said Mayor Watson. "These remarkable individuals have made a difference to countless people in our community, and make our city the special place it is."

Recipients of the Order of Ottawa were chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk and Solicitor, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist and the Chief Executive Officer, Library Services.

Those who will be invested by Mayor Watson into the Order of Ottawa are: Mr. Moe Atallah, Dr. John Bell,

Mr. Paul Benoit, Ms. Hélène Campbell, Mr. Jim Durrell, Ms. Allison Fisher, Mr. Robert Gillett, Mr. Marc Jolicoeur, Mr. Terry Kelly, Mr. Russell Mills, Mrs. Diane Morrison, Mrs. Nazira Naz Tareen, Mrs. Gisèle Richer, Mrs. Christine Tremblay and Mrs. Sara Vered.

Mr. Don Campbell with also be presented with the Brian Kilrea Award, a City award that recognizes the contribution of an amateur coach who best exemplifies the qualities of leadership and commitment.

For more information regarding the Order of Ottawa, visit